Members

Click Here to see group photographs

--Current Members--

Dr. George Xu - Group Leader

The Edward E. Hood Professor of Engineering
Office: Rooms I-11 NES Building and JEC 5003
Phone: (518)276-4014
Fax: (518)276-4832
Email: xug2@rpi.edu
Homepage: http://www.rpi.edu/~xug2

Mr. Qiyun Cheng

Doctoral Student
Office: Room G-15, NES Building
Phone:(518)961-4441
Email: chengq3@rpi.edu

Ms. Huihua Yang

Doctoral Student
Office: Room G-15, NES Building
Phone:(518)961-2015
Email: yangh15@rpi.edu

Ms. Li Mao

Doctoral Student
Office: Room G-15, NES Building
Phone:(518)276-4025
Fax:(518)276-4832
Email: maol2@rpi.edu

Mr. Jacob Alter

Undergraduate Student

Mr. Max Rose

Undergraduate Student

 

 

--Former Members--

Dr. Tianyu Liu

Former Computer Scientist(till May 2019)
Former Doctoral Student
Degree completed: August 2014
Currently Research Scientist
Radiology, Mass General Hospital, Boston
Personal Website: http://tianyuliukingcrimson.wordpress.com/

Dr. Hui Lin

Former Doctoral Student
Degree completed: August 2018
Current position: Postdoc, Radiation Oncology, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Kristofer Zieb

Former Doctoral Student
Degree completed: August 2018
Current position: Postdoc, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Dr. Peter Caracappa

Former Master student(May 2001)
Former Doctoral Student(December 2006)
Formerly Assitant Professor/RSO, RPI (until 2018)
Corporate Radiation Safety Officer
Columbia University

Dr. Yiming Gao

Former Doctoral Student
Degree completed: August 2016
Current position: Medical Physics Resident, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer

Mr. Richard Bennett

Former Master's Student
Degree completed: May 2016

Dr. Xining Du

Former Postdoc Research Associate

Dr. Haikuan Liu

Former Visiting Scholar
Associate Professor
Fudan University, China
Email: haikuan.liu@gmail.com

Dr. Lin Su

Former Doctoral Student (2009-2014)
Assistant professor
Dept of Radiation Oncology
Johns Hopkins University
Email: linsurpi@gmail.com

Dr. Matthew Mille

Former Doctoral Student (2007-2013)

Staff Scientist
Division of Cancer Epidemiology & Genetics
Radiation Epidemiology Branch
National Cancer Institute
NCI Shady Grove | Room 7E508
Phone:240-276-6149
Email: matthew.mille@nih.gov

Dr. Aiping Ding

Former Doctoral Student (2007-2012)
Former Research Associate (2012-2013)

Currently Staff Computer Scientist
Duke Unniversity Medical Center

Mr. Justin Vazquez

Former Master Student (2010-2013)

Currently Reactor Operations Engineer
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: (301)415-0530
Email: Justin.Vazquez@nrc.gov

Ms. Ashley Rhodes

Former Associate Staff Researcher (2012-2013)

Currently Health Physics Technologist
PerkinElmer Life Sciences, Inc.
549 Albany Street, Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 504-1760
Email: ashley.rhodes@perkinelmer.com

Mr. Derek Fiedler, MS

Former Undergraduate Student (2012-2013)

Currently Medical Physics Resident
Department of Radiation Oncology
Montefiore Medical Center
Email: dfiedler@montefiore.org

Dr. Bin Han

Former Doctoral Student (2007-2011)

Currently Associate Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Phone:(518)276-4028
Email: hanbinthu@gmail.com

Mr. Christopher Gaylord

Former undergraduate student (2011)
Manager of Radiation Health
Naval Nuclear Laboratory
Schenectady, New York

Dr. Yong Hum Na

Former Doctoral Student (2006-2009) &
Postdoctoral Fellow (2009-2010)

Currently Medical Physicist
Radiation Oncology, Mount Sinai Health System
New York City

Dr. Jianwei Gu

Former Doctoral Student (2006-2010)

Global Service Program Manager
GE Healthcare, Global Diagnostic X-ray
3000 N Grandview Blvd
Waukesha, WI 53186
Phone: (262)513-4127
Email: Jianwei.Gu@ge.com

Dr. Juying Zhang

Former Doctoral Student (2005-2009)

Medical Radiation Physicist
Radiation Oncology
Kaiser Permanente

Mr. Amatare Dorgu

Former Master Student (2007-2009)

Currently Medical Physics Resident
Vassar Brothers Medical Center
Department of Radiation Oncology
45 Reade Place
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone: (845)454-8500
Email: adorgu@health-quest.org

Dr. Bryan Bednarz

Former Doctoral Student (2005-2008)

Currently Associate Professor
Department of Medical Physics
Wisconsin Institute for Medical Research
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1111 Highland Ave, B1147
Madison, WI 53705-2275
Phone:(608) 262-5225
Email: bbednarz2@wisc.edu

Dr. Binquan Zhang

Former Visiting Scholar (2007-2008)
Center for Space Science and Applied Research
China Academy of Sciences
Email: binquan.zhang@gmail.com

Dr. Valery Taranenko

Former Research Associate (2006-2008)
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)
Department of Radiation Oncology
UCSF Comprehensive Cancer Center
Homepage:valery.taranenko.googlepages.com

Dr. Lars Hegenbart


Former Visiting PhD student (2008)
Email: lars.hegenbart@kit.edu

Ms. Rohini Deb

Email: rodeb3@gmail.com

Mr. Nick Schulte

Former Undergraduate Student

Mr. Piotr Starakiewicz

Former Undergraduate Student (2006-2008)

Mr. James Edward Olson

Former Doctoral Student (2007-2008)
Advanced Turbine Operations Group, GE
Phone:(518) 385-7065
Email: james1.olson@ge.com

Mr. Mark Furler

Former Master's Student (2005-2007)
Software Developer Engineer, PWR Engineering
AREVA NP Inc.
3315 Old Forest Road OF-12
Lynchburg, VA 24501
Phone: (434)832-4478
Fax: (434)382-4478
Email: Mark.Furler@areva.com

Mr. Matt Oakley

Former Undergraduate Student (2002-2006)

Mr. Justin Hanlon

Former Undergraduate Student (2002-2006)
Staff Scientist
Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.
ZEISS Group
5160 Hacienda Drive
Dublin, CA 94568
Phone: (925)413-4766
Email: justin.hanlon@zeiss.com

Ms. Sharon Gallagher

Former Master's Student (2005-2006)
Health Physicist
Stoller-Navarro
Las Vegas, NV
Email: Sharon.Gallagher@nv.doe.gov

Dr. Brian Wang, D.A.B.R.

Former Doctoral Student (2001-2005)
Professor
Director of Medical Physics, Radiation Oncology
Yale School of Medicine
Yale New Haven Hospital
20 York Street, Ste CB 368
New Haven, CT, 06510
Email: brian.wang@yale.edu

Dr. Mark Winslow, D.A.B.R.

Former Doctoral Student (2001-2005)
Sr. Chief Medical Physicist
Providence Alaska Medical Center
Anchorage, AK 99508
3851 Piper Street, Suit UUL227
Phone: (907)212-3186
Email: Mark.Winslow@providence.org

Dr. Tiantian Zhang

Former Doctoral Student (2000-2005)

Currently Global Service Program Manager
Imaging & Advanced Applications
GE Healthcare, Global Diagnostic X-ray
3000 N Grandview blvd, W622
Waukesha, WI 53186
Phone:(518)669-0340
Email: Tiantian.Zhang@ge.com

Ms. Jessica Leone

Former Undergraduate Student (2001-2005)
Currently Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory
Email: leonej@rpi.edu

Dr. Chengyu Shi, D.A.B.R.

Former Doctoral Student (2000-2004)
Associate Attending/New Jersey Lead Physicist
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Mr. Hai Su

Former Master's Student (2001-2004)
Email: suhai321@gmail.com

Mr. Jin-Woo Lee

Former Master's Student (2002-2004)
Currently in South Korea
Email: leej2@alum.rpi.edu

Ms. Meghan M. Thorpe-Kavanaugh

Former Master's Student (2002-2004)
Currently Technical Assistant to the Chief Nuclear Officer, INPO APOC, NEI APC, & USA Fleet Site Rep at Talen Energy
Email: thorpm@alum.rpi.edu

Dr. Abdul Rahman Al-Ghamdi



Former Doctoral Student (1999-2003)


Dr. T. C. Ephraim Chao

Former Doctoral Student and Post Doc Researcher (1997-2002)
Currently Associate professor
Division of Radiological Technology, School of Medical Technology
Chang Gung University, Kwei-Shan, Taiwan
Email: chaot@mail.cgu.edu.tw

Dr. Ahmet Bozkurt

Former Doctoral Student (1996-2000)
Professor
Harran University, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Department of Physics,
63300 Sanliurfa, Turkey.
Email: bozkurt@alum.rpi.edu

Colonel Edward P. Naessens, Jr.

Former Doctoral Student (1996-1999)
Head of the Department of Physics&Nuclear Eng.
United States Military Academy
West Point, NY 10996
Office: (845)938-3014
Email: edward.naessens@usma.edu

Dr. Kevin Minter

Former Doctoral Student (1995-1999)
Email: minterk@alum.rpi.edu

Dr. David P Gierga

Former Undergraduate Student (till 1996)
Currently Associate Professor,Harvard Medical School
FAAPM
Director Clinical Physics Operations Department of Radiation Oncology, Physics Division Massachusetts General Hospital, BOSTON Email: dgierga@mgh.harvard.edu