Inside Rensselaer
Volume 6, No. 3, February 17, 2012


Francine Berman, vice president for research, has been named co-chair of the Board on Research Data and Information (BRDI) of the National Academy of Sciences. The new members were selected from a broad array of universities, organizations, and companies. The goal of BRDI is to improve the stewardship, policy, and use of digital data and information for science and the broader society. The group plays a leading role in researching and then suggesting policy and other solutions for preserving for future generations the massive amounts of digital content generated by scientific research and other activities.

Shirley Ann Jackson, president, has been chosen by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society, to receive its prestigious 2011 Philip Hauge Abelson Award. She is being honored by AAAS for her “extraordinary leadership of and contributions to the scientific community, government, universities, industries, and future generations of science and engineering professionals.” The award was presented Feb. 15 at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Jeffrey Schanz, assistant vice president for alumni relations and executive director of the Rensselaer Alumni Association, has been named the Council for Advancement and Support of Education's (CASE) District II Professional of the Year. The award recognizes a District II institutional advancement professional who has demonstrated “exceptional achievement in the development of an institutional advancement program or innovative execution of programs within an area of advancement.”


* * *
* *
Inside Rensselaer
Volume 6, Number 3, February 17, 2012
©2012 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Return to front
Front Page
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | About RPI | Virtual Campus Tour | Academics | Research | Student Life | Admissions | News & Events