Inside Rensselaer

Faculty and Staff Accolades

Recent awards and recognition for Rensselaer’s faculty and staff members

Georges Belfort, Institute Professor, has been invited to join the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems Scientific Advisory Board. The primary task of the board is to counsel the Institute and to critically assess its scientific performance according to high international standards. Belfort has been invited to join for a six-year term. Belfort also was one of three lecturers at the 37th Annual Symposium on Chemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Kentucky recently.

Martha Grabowski, research professor, is featured in the PROFILES section of TR News, the bimonthly magazine of the Transportation Research Board. The PROFILES honor and highlight the professional achievements and contributions of select Transportation Research Board leaders.

Eddie Jackson, retired associate director of small business procurement, has received the Bert C. Ahrens Award for outstanding contributions to the procurement profession over an extended period of time from the National Association of Educational Procurement (NAEP). Jackson was honored at the NAEP’s 2011 Annual Recognition Awards ceremony held during its annual meeting in Memphis, Tenn. According to NAEP, Jackson’s most notable accomplishment was as co-founder of NAEP’s Supplier Diversity Institute. He served as chair of NAEP’s 75th anniversary celebration in 1996, was presented with NAEP’s Neil D. Markee Communicator of the Year Award in 2003, and in 2004 received the Supplier Diversity Advocate of the Year Award from the Upstate New York Regional Minority Purchasing Council.

Mark Shephard, the Samuel A. and Elisabeth C. Johnson Jr. Professor of Engineering and director of the Scientific Computation Research Center, has been selected by U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics for its John von Neuman Medal, in recognition of his “pioneering research on technologies for reliable simulation automation and parallel adaptive methods.” The Neuman Medal is USACM’s highest award, presented only every other year, honoring individuals who have made sustained outstanding contributions in the field of computational mechanics over substantial portions of their professional careers. The award will be presented to Shephard next month at the U.S. National Congress on Computational Mechanics.

* * *
Send comments to:
Inside Rensselaer, Strategic Communications and External Relations
1000 Troy Building, 110 Eighth Street, Troy, N.Y. 12180 or to
Inside Rensselaer
Volume 5, Number 11, June 17, 2011
©2011 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Front Page
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | About RPI | Virtual Campus Tour | Academics | Research | Student Life | Admissions | News & Events