Inside Rensselaer
Alumni Hockey Weekend To Celebrate  ’85 NCAA Championship Team

The Phalanx Honor Society tapped its newest members April 11.

Newest Members Inducted Into Phalanx Honor Society
Jessica Otitigbe
Senior Communications Specialist

Twenty-seven students have been inducted into the Rensselaer Phalanx Honor Society for 2010. Phalanx honors student leadership, service, and devotion to the university, and celebrates those who have “worked to better the standing of Rensselaer both on and off campus.” New members are selected—or tapped—by the student members of Phalanx. This year’s inductees were chosen from about 70 nominations.

“The selection process is extremely competitive,” said President Shirley Ann Jackson. “This competitiveness should make us all proud, because it underscores the fact that Rensselaer is attracting ever more talented and ambitious students focused on the common good—students who are the leaders of today, and who will lead the world tomorrow.”

Bianca Zongrone, president of Phalanx, and Brian Keating, vice president, presided over the April 11 tapping ceremony, which was attended by Phalanx members, family and friends of the inductees, and others from the Rensselaer community. Former Assistant Professor Lupita Montoya gave the Darrin Address. Montoya was the winner of the 2009 David M. Darrin Counseling Award, which is presented annually by Phalanx during Commencement.

“The important perspective one gains is the variety of ways in which we learn about—and demonstrate—leadership at Rensselaer,” President Jackson added. “As inductees, you indeed make up a colorful mosaic. And although your interests may differ dramatically, you represent the crème de la crème of Rensselaer student leadership and, as such, you set a very high standard.”

The 2010 student inductees include: Michael DiTore, Joshua Elser, Jacqueline Fable, Amelia Folkins, Alexander Franz, Joseph Grimaldi, Tequisha Hendrickson, Benjamin Hunt, Kenneth Hyer, Haris Khan, Sehrish Khan, Jaron Kuppers, Alexandra Lamparski, Christina Laskowski, Meghan Lenihan, Ashlee Lindo, Robyn Marquis, Jessica Martinolich, John Mason, Kyle Mattson, Chase Miller, Andrew Neidhardt, Zachary Rowe, James Tatalias, Garrett Vassel, Brian Zaik, and Michael Zwack.

In addition, 11 students were inducted into the White Key Society, Rensselaer’s junior honor society, for the promise they have shown as leaders as freshmen and sophomores. The inductees include: Michael Chu, Kayla Cole, Kelsey Day, Amanda George, Virginia Hickox, Eliannah Hunderfund, Kevin Luczak, Andrea Maret, Alex Palkovic, Gina Paolillo, Stephen Provost, Roger Barrett Rehr, Andrew Stevens, and Nicholas Wengrenovich.

Inducted into Phalanx as honorary members were Diana Delker, director of the co-op program and senior associate director of the Career Development Center; Ruth Vibert, associate director of Public Safety; Jed McElligott, senior repairer for the Rensselaer Union; and Jackie Ellsworth, bursar in the Controller’s Office.

President Jackson also noted that new Phalanx and White Key members for 2010 comprise only one half of one percent (0.5%) of Rensselaer’s total undergraduate and graduate students.

* * *
Send comments to:
Inside Rensselaer, Strategic Communications and External Relations
1000 Troy Building, 110 Eighth Street, Troy, N.Y. 12180 or to
Inside Rensselaer
Volume 4, Number 8, April 30, 2010
©2010 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Front Page
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | About RPI | Virtual Campus Tour | Academics | Research | Student Life | Admissions | News & Events