Inside Rensselaer
Faculty Recognition Dinner Celebrates Milestones, Awards
* Mark Shephard William Siegmann
Bimal Malaviya Mariana Figueiro

President Jackson congratulated all of the faculty members on their achievements and milestones. (top l-r) Mark Shephard received the William H. Wiley Distinguished Faculty Award; William Siegmann celebrated 40 years of service; (bottom l-r) Bimal Malaviya celebrated more than 45 years of service; and Mariana Figueiro received the James M. Tien ’66 Early Career Award for Faculty.

Rensselaer faculty members were honored with annual Institute awards, and for service and dedication, at the 47th annual Faculty Recognition Dinner, held May 4 in the Heffner Alumni House.

Mark Shephard, professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering and director of Rensselaer’s Scientific Computation Research Center, received the William H. Wiley Distinguished Faculty Award. Established by Edward P. Hamilton ’07 in memory of William H. Wiley (Class of 1886), the award honors those who have won the respect of the faculty through excellence in teaching, productive research, and interest in the totality of the educational process.

Mariana Figueiro, assistant professor in the Lighting Research Center, received the James M. Tien ’66 Early Career Award for Faculty, which honors productivity in both teaching and research.

Patricia Search, professor of language, literature, and communication, received the Jerome Fischbach Faculty Travel Grant, which is funded by Jerome Fischbach ’38 for contributions faculty members have made to the education and motivation of students.

Ivan Markov, associate professor of architecture, received the Class of 1951 Outstanding Teaching Award Fellowship, established by the Class of 1951 to recognize faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments in education.

June Deery, associate professor of language, literature, and communication, was awarded the Board of Trustees’ Outstanding Teacher Award, which was established in 1994 to recognize outstanding accomplishments in classroom instruction.

In addition, a number of faculty were recognized for their years of service to Rensselaer.

Twenty-Five Years of Service: Sharon Anderson-Gold, William Foley, Mark Goldberg, Martin Hardwick, Russell Leslie ’80, Charles Malmborg, George Nagy, Sandra Nierzwicki-Bauer, Frank Spear, Boleslaw Szymanski, Langdon Winner, and James Zappen

Thirty Years of Service: David Bell, Linnda Caporael, Alan Desrochers, and David Isaacson

Thirty-Five Years of Service: Ralph Noble and Joseph Warden

Forty Years of Service: David Duquette, Lester Gerhardt, William Siegmann, and Michael Zenzen

Forty-Five + Years of Service: Bimal Malaviya

Retiring Faculty: Robert Baron, John Brunski, Stephen Derby ’76, Joyce Diwan, J. Keith Nelson, William Pearlman, Donald Vitaliano, and Samuel Wait ’53

* * *
Send comments to:
Inside Rensselaer, Strategic Communications and External Relations
1000 Troy Building, 110 Eighth Street, Troy, N.Y. 12180 or to
Inside Rensselaer
Volume 4, Number 10, May 28, 2010
©2010 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Front Page
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | About RPI | Virtual Campus Tour | Academics | Research | Student Life | Admissions | News & Events