Inside Rensselaer
* Phalanx Honor Society Inducts New Members
Phalanx Honor Society Inducts New Members
Twenty-four students have been inducted into the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Phalanx Honor Society. Phalanx honors student leadership, service, and devotion to the university, and celebrates those who have “worked to better the standing of Rensselaer both on and off campus.” New members are selected — or “tapped” — by the student members of Phalanx.

Tamer Khattab, president of Phalanx, and Daniel Horvath, vice president, presided over the Feb. 24 tapping ceremony, which was attended by Phalanx members, family and friends of the inductees, and others from the Rensselaer community. Thomas Zimmie, professor of civil and environmental engineering, gave the Darrin Address. Zimmie was the winner of the 2007 David M. Darrin Counseling Award, which is presented annually by Phalanx during Commencement.

In remarks to the 2008 Phalanx inductees, President Shirley Ann Jackson applauded their contributions noting that the newest members “have distinguished themselves in a wide range of campus activities — athletics, residence life, student government, honor societies, cultural groups, music groups, and community service.”

“This year there was a record number of nominations — about 50 percent more than last year,” Jackson said. “This makes me extremely proud, because it underscores the fact that Rensselaer is attracting ever more talented and ambitious students — students who are the leaders of today, and who will lead the world tomorrow.”

The 2008 inductees are from the following states: New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Ohio, Maryland, Florida, Colorado, and the country of Canada. The student inductees include: Joseph Cambareri, Kara Chesal, Tara Clancy, Laura Cuttica, Elizabeth DeLouise, Ricky Estevez, Elizabeth Frank, Christopher Gearns, Christopher Goldsmith, Carolyn Gosztyla, Duane Granston, Jordan Hagaman, Kaitlyn Hartog, Ryan Hawthorne, Kristy Kolb, Anthony Lupis, Garrett McCutcheon, Jake Morissette, Joseph Perchiacca, Tom Rayhill, Daniel Schwarting, Erik Swanson, Grace Tangney, and
Laura Wontrop.

In addition, 11 students were inducted into the White Key Society, Rensselaer’s junior honor society, for the promise they have shown as leaders as freshmen and sophomores. The inductees include: Elizabeth Brule, Timothy Heiman, Tequisha Hendrickson, William Jones, Mengdi Lu, Pamela Mende, Andrew Neidhardt, Alexandra Newman, Samuel Punshon-Smith, Natalie Semczuk, and Michael Zwack.

Virginia Gregg, vice president for finance and chief financial officer, and Geoffrey Seber, associate advancement officer, were inducted into Phalanx as honorary members.

Since 1912, the year that Phalanx was established, 1,359 members have been named to the organization. Jackson also noted that new Phalanx and White Key members for 2007 comprise only one half of 1 percent of Rensselaer’s total resident undergraduate and graduate students.

* * *
Send comments to:
Inside Rensselaer, Strategic Communications and External Relations
1000 Troy Building, 110 Eighth Street, Troy, N.Y. 12180 or to
Inside Rensselaer
Volume 2, Number 5, March 21, 2008
©2008 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Front Page
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | About RPI | Virtual Campus Tour | Academics | Research | Student Life | Admissions | News & Events